E3: It’s time once again! Announcements, trailers, and news aplenty!

I feel as if my nerdy little heart can no longer take much more of this! Exams are looming over my head but this is E3 and it happens only once a year. In this venerable carnival of fantastic games, how can one resist? Without going too far into detail, I guess that I should, at the very least, link to some of the amazing cinematic trailers that publishers have been dishing out in addition to a few juicy tidbits from the conferences.

Microsoft Press Conference
First up this year is Microsoft with their conference consisting primarily of Halo and Kinect. To be honest, I was hoping for a lot more. It could have been Microsoft’s show. I was expecting a surprise (is it ironic to expect a surprise?) hardware announcement or some several exclusives to make up for the rather lacking software and what did I get? Halo 4 and a Halo HD remake. Oh, also Kinect. A LOT of Kinect. I really wish that they would leave Master Chief alone. He deserves some rest after all those times he saved the universe. Having Bungie going back on their word simply disappoints me more, the series was supposed to have ended. At the very least, there is Sony’s conference to look forward to.

Sony Press Conference
Next up for the “Big 3″ would be Sony and headlining for them is the PlayStation Vita along with tons of Uncharted and several other smaller pieces of news. Of course, the biggest announcement would be the NGP, now named PlayStation Vita, which is Sony’s new handheld system. This made their show in my opinion. Having been assailed with hacking attempts, causing the PlayStation Network among other things to falter, this was a make or break moment for them. Their lineup of games for this season is superb. Uncharted looks amazing as does Resistance 3. However, Vita with its dual touch pads, dual cameras, an OLED screen, GPS, six-axis motion sensors and a three-axis electronic compass was the highlight of the show. I was expecting the price to be around 400 dollars seeing as how it’s such a spiffy piece of tech but it’s much lower than that. The Wi-Fi version is priced at US$249 and the 3G/Wi-Fi model is priced at $299. That is CHEAP considering this is Sony. There is so much technology crammed into this gadget! I’m grateful that it’s affordable.

I’m so glad that their focus was less on Move and more on their fall lineup. Ico, Shadow of the Colossus, and God of War will be leading the PSP this September. Sony unveils a PlayStation 3D T.V. Resistance 3 was played and this time it’s pure gameplay footage! Bioshock was announced for the PlayStation Vita. PC Gamers and PS3 owners will finally connect with Dust 514, a first person spinoff of EVE Online. Nathan Drake showcased the expected graphical splendor that Uncharted fans will not doubt love and even more Resistance this time in the form of a trailer! Sony came and left leaving me wanting more. I knew that their Fall software lineup would be stellar but it was just announcement after announcement after trailers. That’s just the way I like E3.

I guess now it would be Nintendo’s turn to show Sony what’s what. Because I know so little about what they are going to show, I have close to no expectations. They’re shrouded in mystery. A new console is on the way but we know next to nothing about it and that’s just the way they like it.

Other!
-The Old Republic opening cinematic. It’s amazing. ;D
-Mass Effect 3 will hit North America on March 6th. March 9th for Europeans.
-The new Insomniac game: Overstrike. It’s like TF2 meets Ratchet&Clank meets Borderlands.
-Far Cry 3 gameplay.
-Assassin’s Creed: Revelations cinematic trailer.
-Ocarina of Time 3D CG scenes! I had a nerdgasm when I watched this.
-Bioshock Infinite gameplay trailer. My second nerdgasm. I’m very excited for this game. It will probably be my game of the year when it comes out. Although, Deus Ex and Skyrim may have a gripe with that.
-My third and fourth would be the two Mass Effect 3 trailers and the seven minutes of gameplay for Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.
-And for Serenata, a Final Fantasy XIII-2 trailer.

Please fill me in if I missed anything. There is just so much content and so little time to sift through it all.

- Jacqivarius

About jacqivarius

"I often have long conversations all by myself, and I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying."
This entry was posted in GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to E3: It’s time once again! Announcements, trailers, and news aplenty!

  1. baka-neko says:

    :O
    A NEW CONSOLE? NO WAY!
    just out of curiosity, what games are they releasing ^w^ ?

    • jacqivarius says:

      For which platform? Sony’s Vita will have a Bioshock game but at the moment, that’s all. Nintendo’s press conference is tomorrow and it is only speculation that they will announce a new console. I assume that there would be Zelda, Metroid, and Mario.

      • baka-neko says:

        ugh ~ WP was being an arse, anyway ; preferrably psp, wii and dslite? hopefully they do. Xbox is overtaking them D:

        • jacqivarius says:

          For the Wii, you have the new Zelda game to look forward to. That’s about it but it’s the Wii so… yeah. PSP has a bunch of remakes and HD remakes. God of War and Ico/Shadow of the Colossus being some of them. The DS will continue doing whatever it has been doing. Pokemon? Puzzle games? That sort of thing.

          The Xbox really isn’t overtaking anything. Microsoft’s press conference was abysmal. They have no solid releases this quarter and their own announcement was Halo and it’s still TBA. PlayStation is the one too look out for right now, until the WiiU comes out anyways.

  2. Lustri says:

    Final Fantasy is the most interesting to me at this point. Followed closely by Skyrim. I honestly prefer the setting for Dragon Age over Mass Effect, but it’s Bioware and I plan to finish playing the first two over this summer, so why not? (My brother will inevitably use that logic to try and get me to play The Old Republic.)

    Not sure whether I’m going to bother with Assassin’s Creed.

    • jacqivarius says:

      I do like Final Fantasy as a franchise but it has dropped off quite a bit. Skyrim, on the other hand, is the epitome of Western RPG ideology. Less turn base strategy but more open world exploration. Not that I don’t like turn base strategy but if I were to play a Japanese-styled RPG, I would look towards the Persona games. (Though they’re technically dead as a studio, I don’t believe it.)

      Assassin’s Creed games are decent enough. I just think that they’re saturating the market with their games. They come out every what, like 2 years? Maybe less? It’s wearing a bit thin.

      • Lustri says:

        Assassin’s Creed games are consistently good – inasmuch as you know what to expect and the quality is stable. The content is not always new and exciting, though. I am looking forward to seeing the third installment now that Revelations will supposedly wrap up loose ends. Hopefully that will up the quality and introduce something new and different from its predecessors.

        I’d love to see more RPGs (like Skyrim and Dragon Age).

        • Sakura Yume says:

          I don’t think that Revelations wraps anything up. Like AC Brotherhood, Revelations is an expansion of Assassin’s Creed II. Revelations follows Ezio (again…) since he travels to Constantinople to find out info about Altair. He finds it overrun by Templars etc.etc. finds another love interest and wonders what life would be like if he hadn’t become an Assassin yada yada. Revelations introduces the hookblade, ziplines, and new characters and maps in the Multiplayer version.

          There are rumors that there will be Assassin’s Creed III that will follow another of Desmond’s ancestors (rumor says that it will be a female ancestor). However, nothing is officially confirmed.

    • baka-neko says:

      final fantasy has lost its… well i cant really explain but people who played the previous games like VIII or X (2 &3) would know. XVIII cant compare to those. as for the rest, I’m so much into those dungeons and dragons.

      • Lustri says:

        In general, I think the XVIII storyline wasn’t too bad. Gameplay was extremely linear. I haven’t played all the Final Fantasy games, though. :) And this is the only recent one I have bothered with, so I don’t have the best comparisons.

        • baka-neko says:

          it isn’t but it still can’t compare to the previous ones.

          • jacqivarius says:

            Many modern games have simply lost their sense of design, particularly when sculpting levels and such. The main selling point of Final Fantasy was that it provided a fantastical world to explore with a compelling storyline and side stories and characters. XIII did not convey the same sense of scale. They plot was alright albeit a bit dull and it wasn’t until 30 hours in before you can truly roam free.

            If you’ve played the Duke Nukem Forever demo, the series has definitely lost it’s identity. Gone are the waves of pigmen and the insane weaponry. Developers are scared to take risks that are against conventions. Duke Nukem and Final Fantasy had the gall to diverge from the mold, they were risque. Now they try too hard to conform and because of that, have lost their luster. Big set piece after set piece when all the fans want is the ability to saunter around and explore. It’s what the games were built upon and it has been taken away.

  3. Sakura Yume says:

    The only one that I’m excessively interested in is…Assassin’s Creed: Revelations and maybe…Mass Effect 3? I know my dad’s hyper about Resistance 3 but let’s see about the other games…o.O

    • Sakura Yume says:

      There was also a live gameplay demo on Modern Warfare 3 presented by Robert Bowling and Glen Schofield.

      From Wikipedia: “The game will see the return of Task Force 141 Captain John “Soap” MacTavish, former SAS Captain John Price and Russian informant Nikolai who are on the run after killing the rogue U.S. Army Lieutenant General Shepard. Russian Ultranationalist Vladimir Makarov will also return as the game’s primary antagonist. The game will immediately follow the events of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, where Russia continues its invasion of the United States of America, and has also expanded its offensive to Europe, including England, France and Germany.”

      Hoots for Soap, Price, and Nikolai! ^^

      • jacqivarius says:

        Ngh. I will admit that Soap is a badass but Ghost is cooler. ;)

        I’m not too into the Modern Warfare games. I like extremely wacky or extremely realistic shooters. I find that MW is somewhere in between.

  4. Justin says:

    Looks like Wii U (Yep, that’s the new system) will get a bunch of third party support–games like Darksiders II, Batman: Arkham Asylum, Ghost Recon Online, and others are hitting the system as well. Interestingly enough, not a lot of first party titles for the system–but the system isn’t coming out until most likely Fall or Winter of 2012, so there’s still time. Overall I’m interested in the Vita. I wonder if I’ll want to shell out money for it…

    • jacqivarius says:

      I think that Nintendo is finally going to come back and cater to the core audience. The problem that I had with the Wii was that the third party support is horrible. Aside from the first party games, like Mario or Zelda, nothing entertained me on that system. This time around, they’re really reaching out to the western publishers. Everyone knows that Zelda and Mario will be amazing, all that is needed now would be games to fill the gaps in between.

      A funny thing about Sony products is that the moment they are announced, it looks amazing. When I saw the PSP, I thought that it would be the best handheld and would revolutionize the industry but then it tanked. I would rather play my DS with it’s time consuming mini-puzzle or RPG games and play my PS3 when I want a more serious experience. The Vita is cheap, considering it’s tech, but I don’t know how successful it will be.

Leave a Reply

