Puella Magi Madoka Magica 02: Return of the Moustache

FFFFFUUUUUU

Whenever I watch a SHAFT anime, I feel like I’m on acid.

Not just a little bit of acid, a tanker truck filled with it.

Who has the funding to build a school like this? Bowser?

Summary:

So, we’re back in the architecturally unsound world of Puella Magi Madoka Magica. In this episode we learn of a few new intricacies which help the story a LOT. Thank you SHAFT for taking this anime, otherwise it would be so utterly generic.

As we know, there are magical girls in this world. The little animal thing, Kyubey, is what gives them their power. In exchange for making whatever wish you have come true, you are forced into a battle against the witches. These witches spread calamity and the like, all the regular witch things. Simple enough, I know.

The kicker is that every time a magical girl slays a witch, they may receive something called a Grief Seed. The seed has the power to cleanse your magical item thus returning the magicks that you had used. This causes competition and a necessity to slay witches. Also why the transfer student, Akemi, was trying to rid of Kyubey to stop Madoka from becoming a magical girl.

Grief Seed

This is infinitely better than a good vs evil scenario. In a sense, it’s everybody for themselves. However! There is another catch! It seems that each Grief Seed has more than one “charge”. It can cleanse more than one item before its uses run out. This means that alliances can be made and witches are more easily hunted! It’s a delicate balance because it may not be able to replenish everyone’s powers and these are a rarity meaning not every witch will drop one.

Not the witch you were expecting eh? It's more of a demon.

Again, I have to acknowledge SHAFT. The setting is just insane. It’s an anime meaning that reality does not exist in their world. Any architectural structure can be raised. SHAFT just takes it and runs with it. They create some of the best landscapes I’ve seen in an anime. Always crisp, usually dystopian.

Note: Very CLEAN!

That’s a nice view. The school is very clean. And it’s also white. This contrasts very well with the witches worlds as they are dark, dreary and inhabited by gross creatures. I would love to be able to each lunch on that roof daily. Actually, I would just like to see a roof like that.

I swear, only bowser has enough money to build something like this.

I will say this again, SHAFT is like acid. In exchange for a compelling storyline, you get the creepy shit that comes along with SHAFT. I guess it’s a plus but then again, I feel like I’m being tainted. Ah well, it’s much better than your average mahou shoujo anime so I’ll give them that.

Who has a gun like that? Flintlock?

Everything has a damn moustache! It's creeping me out.

No bridge curves like that. It's a cool effect though.

Jacqivarius

About jacqivarius

"I often have long conversations all by myself, and I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying."
This entry was posted in 2010/11 - Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Puella Magi Madoka Magica 02: Return of the Moustache

  1. Jo says:

    I’m trying to figure out if I like this show or hate it…It’s pretty and all, but there is some serious WTF??!! going on…
    Maybe its just me, but I don’t really like the character designs. They look unfinished compared to the rest of the polished background..
    =)

    • jacqivarius says:

      It may be because I love Hidamari Sketch that I don’t mind the characters. SHAFT produces both those anime and the style is really similar except for the crazy background crap.

      It’s not like it’s bad… just needs some getting used to.

      • Jo says:

        Hehe, I’ve never watched Hidamari Sketch before. Only really started watching anime towards the end of 2009 (the stuff I watched as a kid not included)…
        I liked Bakemonogatari a lot though. That was probably my first intro. to Shaft. and it was awesome. This show, well I guess like you say, it just needs some getting used to.

        and from the looks of it Mami and Kyubey are the bad guys…and Akemi is just misunderstood.

        =)

  2. SilentSerenata says:

    I love the unique art being used in this series, especially the BGs. Though the plot can be a bit LOLWTF at time. Still good otherwise.

Leave a Reply

