[FIRST IMPRESSIONS] Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

SYNOPSIS

Young Fitz is the bastard son of the noble Prince Chivalry, raised in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s gruff stableman. He is treated as an outcast by all the royalty except the devious King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored in the arts of the assassin. For in Fitz’s blood runs the magic Skill – and the darker knowledge of a child raised in the stable hounds of rejection by his family. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood. Soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-shattering mission. And though some regard him as a threat to the throne, he may just be the key to the survival of the kingdom.


Being but a scant 50 pages in, I believe this would count as a first impression, albeit a rather hasty one. Anyways, this is the first book in a series called “The Farseer”. It tells the story of a bastard child sired by royal blood.

The protagonist is what pulled me and essentially forced me to buy this novel. He’s an underdog and I adore underdogs. Fitz is near to being a complete mute, has a strange affinity with animals, and is influenced by the poorer community rather than his royal roots. With the promise of what I hope to be thaumaturgic magnificence, I believe that I will be well into the novel by the end of the week.  There have already been a few instances where he has shown some semblance of power and that just further intrigues me.

It’s slow going for the first few chapters as it’s mainly exposition and politics. This is usually the case for most of these epic fantasy novels so I wasn’t perturbed. What I can say is that the setting is very well done. There’s a focus on the simpler side of life. Fish mongers, stable hands, and petty sailor stories of ghostly ships really add to the feel of the story. It’s starting off small but I’m sure it’ll ramp up into something worth writing about.

I’ve read nothing but glowing reviews of this book so I hope that it doesn’t betray my high expectations. Perhaps I’ll keep you all up to date but I’ll probably be too busy reading or otherwise lolly gagging to bother.

– Jacqivarius

About jacqivarius

"I often have long conversations all by myself, and I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying."
This entry was posted in BOOKS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [FIRST IMPRESSIONS] Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

  1. baka-neko says:

    for a second i thought that said robin hood. LOL

  2. Redhead says:

    This is such a good series! the first book is mostly set up, world building, and a boat load of foreshadowing. Fitz is still a kid, and very shy and quiet and naive, so he mostly only watches what’s going on around him.

    You’re gonna be addicted to Robin Hobb before long!

Leave a Reply

