[First Impression] Nichijou 01: KyoAni~

I promised myself that I wouldn’t fall behind during the spring season! I’m falling behind. NUUUUU~

I’m certain that I will have difficulties providing any truly exciting and mind boggling posts for this anime.

All you need to know is that this is Kyoto Animation at its best. Nichijou has that simple and big eyed look that KyoAni loves and it’s what they’re known for. This would be Azumanga Daioh if it had a new season. It’s great.

It’s so also extremely cute. Look at those googly eyes. Look at that simple shading and animation. Look at the guys mohawk. So Kawaii~

Thirdly, it’s genuinely funny! I don’t normally laugh when I watch anime anymore. The jokes just aren’t funny and the scenarios aren’t bizarre enough. Nichijou pulls this off. I was actually laughing at the absurdity and the eccentric characters.

Umm, the soundtrack is nice? I’m already running out of things to say. Pictures! Save me with your captions.

Anyways, it’s a fun anime, good to kick back and relax to. You’ll laugh numerous times and grow to love the characters. The style is easy on the eyes and it changes throughout for a nice variation. Nichijou is a slice of life anime, you either like ’em or you don’t. Insanity and enjoyment in a metaphorical box.

And the cuteness begins!

She's a robot. When she falls, she explodes. Classy huh?

Osaka? Tomo? HOW I MISSED YOU.

I'm disappointed that she isn't voice my Mamiko Noto. My only gripe.

AHHHHHH! SAUSAAAAGE! SUPER SAIYAN!!!

There are those short sections inbetween each "4koma" stripe/joke. Cool.

Derp? Wat?

Hehe, the professor is a tiny kid. Classic. I never noticed the lab coat. Her name is Hakase as well. ;D

– Jacqivarius

About jacqivarius

"I often have long conversations all by myself, and I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying."
This entry was posted in 2011 - Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [First Impression] Nichijou 01: KyoAni~

  1. This looks hilarious ;D I never gave the manga a go but perhaps I’ll try the anime instead.

    • jacqivarius says:

      And you know that the production quality is sky high because it’s Kyoto Animation! There’s nothing to lose but your time, which may be more important than I choose to believe.

  2. karry says:

    “This would be Azumanga Daioh if it had a new season. It’s great.’
    Except the only thing in common this show would have with Azumanga is high-school setting. Azumanga is 100% down to earth, plausible and relatable. This one – comedy of surreal.

    • jacqivarius says:

      Have you forgotten the trips of utter insanity whenever a daydreaming Osaka is involved? Chiyo’s dad? Azumanga Daioh is not without it’s share of wacky and obscure jokes.

      The reason why I had said this was because the comedic style is very similar. In addition, the characters and various art directions could very well be attributed to Azumanga. There is an unmistakable resemblance.

      • karry says:

        “daydreaming Osaka”
        And that was it. Daydreaming. Plushies talking did not happen in show’s “reality”. Characters can have whatever fantasies they please, but they stay fantasies.

        “comedic style is very similar.”
        Umm…why exactly ?

        “characters and various art directions could very well be attributed to Azumanga.”
        When was the last time you watched (or i should say read) Azumanga ?

        “There is an unmistakable resemblance.”
        No, its very much “mistakable”, as your enitre premise just proved.

        • jacqivarius says:

          I believe that to retain our civility, we should agree to disagree else we may end up degrading ourselves over a minor issue.

          You hold onto your views and may you never sway. Meanwhile, I can sleep peaceful with my skewed and somewhat awkward beliefs. Peaceful enough anyways.

  3. baka-neko says:

    so.. many.. pictures… O_O
    i don’t particularly like the art here. more specifically towards the character drawings.

  4. Yi says:

    So much silly random cuteness!

Leave a Reply

