[First Impressions] [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control/ A faustian bargain.

Warning, the contents of this post may have me gushing fervently. View at your own discretion.

Finance, capital, cash, resources, food, survival, all of it is money right?

[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control is an anime all about money, how it represents power and security. Kimimaro Yoga is a scholarship student whose father bailed and mother has passed away. His one goal is to live a stable life. If only he had money.

I think that [C] is among the best anime of this season. The music, atmosphere, and above all plot is electric. The basic concept is that there is a “financial district” which choose, at random, one person to join its ranks of supernatural combatants. Having been issued a line of credit, you can enter the district by means of an ATM and a Back to the Future car ride. The pin number happens to be 666.

Obviously, this intrigues me. It’s my type of anime! A faustian bargain, a rebellious but responsible youngster caught up in a supernatural mess, I want more. The style is great, it reminds me of Gainex to be honest. The score, with it’s many trumpets, makes me feel as if I’m watching Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann. It feels of that scale and caliber.

My expectations were admittedly low, until I started watching that is. The script is written by the same screenwriter who adapted DURARARA! and Baccano. It’s directed by Nakamura Kenji who has worked on Cowboy Bebop and Serial Experiments Lain. You have Sakurai Takahiro, Tomatsu Haruka, and Makino Yui (!!!) as voice talent. Come on now… nerf this Blizz. It’s an old guard, veterans.

This first episode was action packed without much exposition. I have a general idea as to what is going on but only slightly. Each “entrepreneur” has the ability to challenge another in the financial district. They spend money to summon demons to do battle and when they win, they can steal cash money from the defeated. I think that this may be the reason as to why I’m so intrigued. It’s like Digimon, Pokemon, Kiba, Shaman King, Gash Bell, even Tsubasa Chronicles  to some extent. I loved those shows because it displayed a magical and mysterious world. Although I am now older, it seems that the genre has grown with me. I hope that it has matured in a way suitable to my tastes as well.

*Sigh*, I think I may be priming myself for a terrible letdown. My expectations are much too high at this point. It’s good though, very good. If you’re not already watching it, do so. I implore you.

Everything is 666 in this anime. Everything.

Direct being the user puts himself in immediate danger. Swords and such.

Im assuming those blogs represent their cash allotted.

Peek-a-boo!

– Jacqivarius

About jacqivarius

"I often have long conversations all by myself, and I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying."
This entry was posted in 2011 - Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [First Impressions] [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control/ A faustian bargain.

  1. paper says:

    Masakaki was his name I think. He’s such a creeper.

Leave a Reply

