FIRST IMPRESSION – Ao no Exorcist 01: Blue flames and perverted priests.

23. Blue FLAMES! BLUE!

Exorcist: a person who expels (a supposed evil spirit) by invocation or use of a holy name. Or in Ao no Exorcist’s case, it’s demons and swords.

Summary:

2. Blue flames!

5. NO OP AGAIN!

The world of Ao no Exorcist consists of two dimensions joined as one, like a mirror. The first is the world in which the humans live, Assiah. The other is the world of demons, Gehenna. Ordinarily, travel between the two, and any kind of contact between the two, is impossible. However, demons can pass over into this world by possessing anything that exists within it. Rin Okumura is a teenager with a natural gift to get himself in trouble. Despite this, he tries his best to meet the expectations of his twin brother Yukio and Priest Shiro Fujimoto, their guardian, until he finally learns about the dark secret behind his origin – he is actually Satan’s son.

4. The hero.

6. Episode one.

7. Where is this sexy onee-sama ;O

"Where is this sexy onee-sama?!"

8. Er yes. Priests can be violent too.

"YOU LIED!"

9. Too many facial moles for my tastes!

The younger twin, Yukio.

11. Snicker.

12. LOL at the manager.

Latest job: working at the supermarket.

13. ;O

14. Accident one.

Mishap number one.

15. Accident two.

Mishap number two.

16. Accident three.

Three.

18. Here it comes.

19. Depression.

Ending result: FIRED.

20. A seal...

22. Fight oh!

23. Blue FLAMES! BLUE!

24. Cool!

25. The two worlds.

26. You are Satan's child!

You are Satan's child!

Afterthoughts:

For once, I’m watching a series which I have absolutely no idea about after what seems to be ages. I’ve yet to rush ahead with the manga or let alone touch it. Okay, so I read a tad bit of the first chapter or two out of sheer curiosity but it honestly wasn’t all that exciting so I stopped. Perhaps if the anime proves otherwise, I’ll try again…sometime. But regardless, I’ve no idea as to how Ao no Exorcist will progress once the stage is set, but I suppose that’s all the more fun for me. This way, I’ll be able to watch the anime in peace and if I’m lucky enough, be able to spot a few conspiracies without having to spoil it for myself. With that being said, first impressions here I go!

17. Cooking desu.

Like most other shounen anime, Ao no Exorcist begins with our protagonist performing peaceful, mundane activities – it’s another one of those “normal life gone wrong” sorts of phases. This episode did however include a few comedic moments here and there, such as perverted comments by a perverted priest and the sabotage of a supermarket manager, to compensate for its lack of action. It’s like Beelzebub – little action but funny one way or another.

The plot looks compromising, with all the exorcism and “Satan’s child” whatnot. I do hope however that the demons which Rin will be “exorcising” within the future are better looking then fugly cats or bleeding, crazy-faced humans. I’m almost begging that Satan in the least will look awesome if A-1 Pictures or the mangaka ever intends to show his true face. Perhaps Ao no Exorcist will incorporate the idea that the more humane a demon seems, the stronger they are? I’ll rather not stare at a screen full of fugly demons with no sense of fashion whatsoever. Bad, bad, bad character designs are a big “X” on my list. I do however, love the blue flames. It’s a cool blue (like BRS!) and apparently it’s the trademark of Satan or something? Not too sure.

As for music, I love the ED! I’ve never been a fan of k-pop artists but wow, 2PM blew me away with their song “Take Off”. Their Japanese sounds decent too. Wow. But in terms of graphics, it’s like Deadman Wonderland; not graphically brilliant to the point that you can’t stop staring (but it’s brilliant nevertheless – I love the whole “driving/travelling” camera perspective) but relevant, symbolic even, to the main story. And like Deadman Wonderland, there was no OP this week. Unfortunately for the fans, there was no UVERworld this episode. NUUUUUU D:

But unlike DW, Ao no Exorcist sucks at graphically depicting blood. It looks like shiat tomato juice or something.

1. What crappy blood.

Then again, Ao no Exorcist is less violent, or so it seems, than DW. Unless it shows sadistic nurses tearing the organs from alive victims which I don’t think will happen.

Last but not least, the characters. Personally, I dislike Yukio, Rin’s younger twin brother – I suppose he gives me the creeps as one of those “good but exactly evil” antagonists. I wouldn’t be surprised if he was. As for our dear protagonist, soon to be hero, he’s got the physical strength and sense of justice alright. A-1 Picture just needs to develop his battle experience and he’ll be damn awesome.

All in all, not a bad start but also not the best. A decent beginning compromising great action as our protagonist strives to become an exorcist…soon.

Ratings:

Plot: C+
Characters: B-
Music: B
Graphics: B
Overall: B

Preview:

27. Preview.

28. Preview; and who might you be sir.

– Serenata

About Kirakuna

A+ in procrastinating
This entry was posted in 2011 - Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FIRST IMPRESSION – Ao no Exorcist 01: Blue flames and perverted priests.

  1. Itachi says:

    I like the blue flame that surrounds him. Perhaps it is a demon trademarks. The Coal Tar(bug) is creeping me out. Just imagine if it is real in this world.
    For me, the ending theme is awesome as well. I love it. XD

    • The blue flames remind me of BRS. It’s cool. And so it 2PM’s “Take Off”! A jap song from a kpop artist, moreover for an anime ED – now that’s a first. Or so I’ve seen.

      As for the Coal Tar, I thought they were like mini-cats or something. Cute but creepy.

  2. Nadja says:

    lol what about Yukio’s moles?

    One or two moles are fine, but three? A little too mole-y for me. xD

    I loved the ED song by 2PM, but I wished they had shown more of the dancing instead of just a highway. The huge billboards hint that the dance is kind of awesome, so it’d be nice if we could see it full screen. Alas, it is not to be…

    • I agree! I’m not a big fan of Yukio’s character design, especially not his facial moles. Three is too much for my tastes – too odd looking. As for the dancing at the ED, gosh, A-1 Pictures should just make an animated dance cover for “Take Off” already lol. The highway was nevertheless cool ;D

  3. Heh… you should read the manga now… it’s a lot different, if you’ don’t like the anime that much currently, that is… if you like it – don’t read the manga :)

    Btw, Ao No Exorcist news here: http://wp.me/p1Ooje-41

Leave a Reply

