Can You Hear My Heart (1-18) Review

One of the most important aspects of a drama like this is whether or not it can make you connect with the characters. Can You Hear My Heart is effectively an unexpected emotional rollercoaster that tugs at the heart strings. Faults aside, it is addictive, thought-provoking, and poignant. Not alone does it cast aside some of popular tropes utilized in many trendy dramas, but it brings something to the table that is both warm and familiar – the true essence of family.

What really makes this drama is not necessarily the eye candy leads, the directing, or the acting. It is the relationships between the characters. Two actors that have so entirely captivated their characters that I am left in awe are Jung Bo Suk as Bong Young Gyu and Kim Yu Jin as Mi Suk. Bong Young Gyu has to be the most endearing character across any drama I have ever watched. Beset by a mental handicap that leaves him less “intelligent” than others (mentally retarded, although the term is more derogatory than intended) also renders him as very innocent and naive. There are really only so many words I can throw out to sum up how amazing his character his, and the relationship that develops between Young Gyu and Dong Joo is positively adorable.

Mi Suk, who ends up marrying Young Gyu, is a deaf character that is played flawlessly by Kim Yu Jin. (Mi Suk unfortunately passes away early in the series, but Kim Yu Jin comes back to play ANOTHER Mi Suk, starting in episode 15-16. Whether I like this yet, I have not figured out.)

Another notable mention is Kim Jae Wook as Cha Dong Joo, a third-generation chaebol (if my information is correct) that lost his hearing in an “accident,” but pretends to be normal. I have heard that Kim Jae Wook is not necessarily a very good actor, but I think he has found his niche here. He isn’t quite OUTSTANDING, but he does not fail to impress. And that smile? If that doesn’t make you melt, I don’t know what does.

On the flipside, I don’t really like Bong Woo Ri, played by Hwang Jung Eum. I am not sure if it is the actress herself or if the character is meant to be written so one dimensional and flat, but it really one of the few things that seriously detracts from the overall quality of the drama. And that haircut! I just can’t get over it. The clothes that others have complained about, I can understand – she is supposed to be poor, she isn’t going to be a fashionista. But the haircut? Could we have had something OTHER than that hideous bowl cut? Sadly, as of episode 18, I am beginning to get used to it… Finally.

That being said, I am on the Dong Joo x Woo Ri ship. Because as much as I feel bad for Jun Ha and love his character, the other two have a chemistry (okay, it’s mostly Jae Wook’s charisma) that cannot be ignored. But I hope that, somehow, Jun Ha can have some happiness.

Although tragedy seems to lurk in the distance, I’m waiting on pins and needles for the next episode. This series is utterly addicting. Where Lie to Me has failed to be what I was hoping, and Greatest Love rose above my expectations, Can You Hear My Heart has me bedazzled. I just hope it doesn’t tear my heart out in the end. (This is an indirect jab at you, 49 Days.)  

-Lustri

This entry was posted in DRAMA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Can You Hear My Heart (1-18) Review

  1. sakuraxxyume says:

    I’ve heard of this drama before. When I read the summary (I know, I shouldn’t rely on summaries too much), it quite turned me off with the “deaf” character. It’s not that I despise those characters, it’s just that they seem utterly depressing. In your opinion, does this drama prove me wrong or support my prediction?

    “Lie to Me” had a cliche concept. Acting turns into real love. Btw, is “Greatest Love” that great? I’ve held it off my “To Watch” list.

    I was wondering…do you know the Korean drama “Romance Town”? If you’ve watched it, I was wondering what your opinions were on it. It seems simple (though I’m not sure if simple is your forte).

    • Azer says:

      This drama is a definite much watch. The ‘deaf’ aspect of it is played well because the main character hides it from everyone- it’s amazing to see him accept his deafness because of Woo Ri.

      Like the review said really heartwarming drama, and it has one of the BEST endings, it tie’s up every loose end and is guaranteed to make you smile!

  2. Lustri says:

    Initially, you would think two deaf characters would be depressing. Dong Joo is a shockingly strong character despite being deaf. It takes strength to pretend to be “normal.” And while the angst is strong when he makes the initial discovery that he can’t hear, his recovery is dramatic. (The discovery really only takes place in 1-2 episodes, so it is relatively short in comparison with the rest of the drama.) He is an incredibly endearing character. In saying this, the characters themselves are not depressed and downers, but there is a lot of depressing material – it made me cry a few times. Still the drama I look forward to most, but I can understand why it might not be your cup of tea if you prefer comedy.

    Lie to Me was cliche, but… Yoon Eun-hye and Kang Ji-hwan. *despairs* Probably the main (if not only) reason people really went into it with any expectations, and probably one of the few reasons people are still watching. I dropped it after episode 4.

    Greatest Love (haven’t watched episode 8 yet), but it is positively hilarious. Not sure you have seen anything else by the Hong Sisters (have personally seen 4 of their others and only liked their latest works, the early ones did not suit my tastes) but if you liked them, you’ll probably like this. It is a bit more on the wacky side than You’re Beautiful and My Girlfriend is a Gumiho was, though. But I adore the characters. Be warned the first two episodes are a little iffy, it picks up after episode 3.

    I’ve been watching Romance Town, too. It has a very simple, slice of life feel. So far I’m kind of meh on it. It is okay, has pretty good potential, and I like all the varying storylines, but… I really don’t like slice of life. :( It is just not my genre. Has the setup for a lot of angst, very little comedy. To me, it is more of a light-hearted melo (contradictory, I know) than it is a romcom.

    Also watching Miss Ripley, still on the fence about it, though.

  3. karened says:

    This drama has a vibe more positive than I had expected. And I agree, all the characters are endearing, even the side characters like Seung Chul, and Dong Joo’s mother. Really great writing, I’d say. One of the best in recent drama seasons. It’s really quite a melodrama, just with the family element included, but it’s just as addictive as a good romcom. Totally under-rated!

  4. karened says:

    And boy, who exactly is the lead actor? I’m feeling so, so much for Jun Ha!! Good acting met with good script and character development is so satisfying.It feels like Jun Ha and Dong Joo are supporting each other’s part AND character. Oh, I’m so in for Woo Ri x Dong Joo, Woo Ri x Jun Ha, Woo Ri x Seung Chul, Dong Joo x Jun Ha, Young Gyu x Dong Joo, Young Gyu x Woo Ri, Young Gyu x Ma Ru, Young Gyu x Mi Suk, Ma Ru x Mi Suk………….because I feel for all of them!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Everyone has written about what a great show this is & I’ve stuck it out to episode 10, but the fast forward button doesnt work as smoothly as I’d like. I feel like I’m dropping brain cells whenever there are scenes of the Bong family & their neighbors. If you like the old I Love Lucy shows maybe you can be more forgiving than I am. Time to move on to something less maudlin

  6. JT says:

    Dong Joo is played by Kim Jae Won….Not Kim Jae Wook

Leave a Reply

